

The Montgomery County Development
Authority was created through a Local
Constitutional Act. In 1966, Section 1,
Article VII, Section V, Paragraph I of the
Georgia Constitution was amended thereby
creating the Development Authority. The
Development Authority is composed of five
members that are appointed by the
Montgomery County Board of
Commissioners. Four of the Authority
members are appointed by district and one
member is appointed to represent the

County at-large. Each Authority member serves a five-year term. Only one Authority member may be appointed each year for a five-year term. The powers and duties of the Montgomery County Development Authority can be found in the Local Constitutional Act of 1966. To access the Authority's Local Constitutional Act, click here:

https://library.municode.com/ga/montgomery_county/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=PTILOSPA

Our goal and mission as the Montgomery County Development Authority is to:

- promote economic growth and stability in the county by supporting existing businesses, targeting and attracting new businesses, as well as corporate and/or regional headquarters thereby increasing operating revenues and creating jobs.
- provide various government entities within the county with information to support the achievement of planned economic growth.
- remain keenly aware of the importance of our natural environment by appreciating the history, heritage and natural beauty of Montgomery County when planning for the county's future.
- recognize the importance of agriculture and tourism as well as the significant contribution these industries make to our local economies and plan accordingly for the benefit of citizens of Montgomery County.

Staff & Board Members:

Joe Filippone (Director)

Authority-Militia District	Term Ends
1-Mount Vernon	01/01/28
2-Uvalda/Alston	01/01/29
3-Higgston	01/01/25
e 4-Ailey/Higgston	01/01/26
	1-Mount Vernon 2-Uvalda/Alston

Kathy Rudd

5-County-at-Large

01/01/27

View PDF